Home page

Research Centre in Kraków

Head:  Stanisław Mazur, Professor

Deputy Head of Administration and Economics,
Deputy Head of Organization:  
 Adam Jaracz, MSc.

Secretariat:  Alicja Bobrowska‑Borowiec, MSc.

Address: Instytut Nauk Geologicznych PAN 
               Ośrodek Badawczy w Krakowie

(Institute of Geological Sciences, Research Centre in Kraków)
               Senacka 1, 31-002 Kraków, POLAND 

Phone:  (48) 12 37 05 200 (switchboard; 12 422 19 10 ; 422 89 20
Fax:      (48) 12 37 05 205; 12 422 16 09
e-mail:  ndingobk@cyf-kr.edu.pl

Logo OB

Staff  ▼ ▼
Scientific activities of the Research Centre in Kraków, include mainly sedimentology, clay mineralogy, structural geology and stratigraphy. Sedimentological investigations are focused on Carboniferous and Miocene foredeep basins in southern Poland and on modern fluvial systems. Mineralogical research involves reconstruction of diagenetic and thermal histories of sedimentary basins, with particular emphasis given to methodological advances. Tectonic and stratigraphic research is carried out in the Carpathians, polar regions and in Vietnam. Biostratigraphic work is focused on Mesozoic micropalaeontology and Palaeozoic-Tertiary palynology. Geological museum at the Research Centre in Kraków posses valuable collections of fossils and minerals and has the exhibition "Geology of the Krakow Region" on a permanent display. The centre hosts publishing office and the editorial board of the geological journals Studia Geologica Polonica and Annales Societatis Geologorum Poloniae.

Organizational units of Research Centre:
Staff of Research Centre  

Secretariat :
Alicja Bobrowska‑Borowiec MSc. - Administration  

Finance and Accounting Department:
Karolina Brodzińska‑Górka MSc. - Accountant  

Administration and Economics Office:
Adam Jaracz MSc. - Administration and Economics  
Magdalena Błachowska MSc. - Administration and Economics  
Paweł Ciepiela   - Administration  
Tomasz Kruszec MSc. - Administration  
Robert Niewiara MSc. - Informatics  
Janina Morawska   - Telephone Exchange  
Zofia Pazdur   - Telephone Exchange  

Research staff:
info pages  » »  
Stanisław Mazur Professor - tectonics, structural geology, potential fields geophysics, basin analysis
Coordinator of Sedimentary record of Evolution of depositional basins
Jan Środoń Professor - clay mineralogy   » »
Robert Anczkiewicz Dr. hab.
Associate Professor
- geochronology, isotope geochemistry, metamorphic geology
Head of Geochronology and Isotope Geochemistry Group
» »
Arkadiusz Derkowski Dr. hab.
Associate Professor
- clay minerals, gas shales, K-Ar isotope dating
Clay Minerals Laboratory
» »
Jarosław Tyszka Dr. hab.
Associate Professor
- micropalaeontology, theoretical morphology, palaeoecology, palaeoceanography, palaeoclimatology
Coordinator of Biogeosystem Modelling Team
» »
Bartosz Budzyń Dr. hab. - metamorphic petrology, geochronology, geochemistry
Head of Sample Preparation Laboratory
» »
Przemysław Gedl Dr. hab. - Biostratigraphy and palaeoecology of Dinoflagellata cysts  (dinocysts)
Biogeosystem Modelling Laboratory
Artur Kędzior Dr. hab. - sedimentology
» »
Aneta A. Anczkiewicz Dr. - low geothermochronology, fission tracks, diagenesis, pyrite formation
Geochronology and Isotope Geochemistry Laboratory
» »
Agnieszka Arabas Dr. - Jurassic, palaeoenvironment, palaeoclimate,
carbon cycle, temperature proxies
» »
Irena Brunarska Dr. - Isotope geochemistry, Environmental mineralogy and geochemistry
Geochronology and Isotope Geochemistry Laboratory
» »
Justyna Kowal‑Kasprzyk Dr. - Assistant
Geochronology and Isotope Geochemistry Laboratory
Artur Kuligiewicz Dr. - clay mineralogy
Clay Minerals Laboratory
Katarzyna Luberda‑Durnaś Dr. - Adjunct
Clay Minerals Laboratory
Douglas K. McCarty Dr. - Visiting Professor
Mateusz Mikołajczak Dr. - Assistant  
Agnieszka Pisarzowska Dr. - isotope geochemistry  
Wiesława Radmacher Dr. - palynology
Biogeosystem Modelling Laboratory
» »
Marek  Szczerba Dr. - clay mineralogy, spectroscopy, molecular modelling
Head of Clay Minerals Group
» »
Małgorzata Lempart MSc. - Acting Manager of  Clay Minerals Laboratory  
Akeek Maitra MSc. - Assistant
Geochronology and Isotope Geochemistry Laboratory

PhD students:
Jan Hejnar
MSc. - PhD student

Technical Staff:
Dorota Bakowska MSc. - Technician Expert
Clay Minerals Laboratory
Michał Banaś MSc. - Technician Expert
Clay Minerals Laboratory
Zuzanna Ciesielska Eng. - Technician
Clay Minerals Laboratory
Jan Goleń MSc. - PhD student
Biogeosystem Modelling Laboratory
Izabela Kocjan   - Technician
Sample Preparation Laboratory
Mariola Kowalik MSc. - Technician
Clay Minerals Laboratory
Nina Kowalik MSc. - Geochemist
Geochronology and Isotope Geochemistry Laboratory
Marta Koziarska MSc. - Geochemist
Geochronology and Isotope Geochemistry Laboratory
Milena Matyszczak Dr. - Technician
Geochronology and Isotope Geochemistry Laboratory
Paweł Motak MSc. - Technician
Sample Preparation Laboratory
Igor Niezgodzki MSc. - Assistant
palaeoclimatology, palaeoceanography
Biogeosystem Modelling Laboratory
» »
Mariusz Paszkowski Dr. - Research Specialist
sedimentology and stratigraphy
Monika Plech MSc. - Scientific Information  
Martyna Rogozik   - Technician
Geochronology and Isotope Geochemistry Laboratory
Dariusz Sala Dr. - Geologist
Geochronology and Isotope Geochemistry Laboratory
Tomasz Siwecki Eng. - Technician
Sample Preparation Laboratory
Aleksander Skała Dr. - Technician Expert
Clay Minerals Laboratory
Anna  Zagórska MSc. - Technician Expert
Sample Preparation Laboratory
Safety inspector
Paweł Ziemiański MSc. - Assistant
Clay Minerals Laboratory

Library :
Magdalena Hłobił‑Zwiercan MSc. - Librarian

Geological Museum :
Piotr Olejniczak MSc. - Curator

© 2003-2018  Instytut Nauk Geologicznych PAN